Boys & Girls Clubs of Greater Oxnard and Port Hueneme

Tim Blaylock’s Final Message

Posted in Uncategorized by BGCOP Staff on May 27, 2014

 

 

Thank you for giving me the opportunity of a lifetime to serve the children of Oxnard and Port Hueneme! It has truly been the most challenging and exciting times of my life — full of love, great relationships and great success for those kids that needed us most. The last 12 years have been the most wonderful and memorable years of my life, driven not by a job, but a passion for the mission, the cause and the children.

The Kids!

They are what I will miss the most! The stories of resilience, determination, perseverance, smiles, hope, love and overcoming some of the most challenging times that no child should ever have to face. So many children have endured and reached success for the first time because of the Club and our volunteers and their selfless work. This is why we do this work–a better world for those less fortunate.

BGCOP Staff team and Board Volunteers!

This is the second thing I will miss the most. Our Club is blessed with outstanding, caring, giving and loving board members and staff. We have extraordinarily wonderful people who work on behalf of our children and for the Boys & Girls Clubs of Greater Oxnard and Port Hueneme. I have never worked with a more dedicated, smart, and caring group.

Building!

There is something very special about taking a little Club like ours and building it into a significant and successful organization. Owning it and molding it and then building on it again and again. We are respected locally, regionally and nationally as a high achieving BGC. Together, WE have built a wonderful Boys & Girls Club that we all can be proud of and others only wish they could replicate. The real winners are the children here today and in future generations to come because of your tenacity and drive to be one of the best BGC anywhere. I commend you on believing in this cause and in this organization. For over 60 years it is people like you who have helped make this place GREAT! And the foundation is set for the next 60 years. Please continue on…Generations are counting on you!

Our Great Partnerships, donors and relationships

One thing I have learned over the years is that nothing can be accomplished without support from others. We have been blessed with partners, donors and volunteers who wanted to support our efforts to help children and youth. There are over 50 partnerships like Ventura County Probation, local school districts, many private community based organizations, and government agencies, as well as hundreds of individuals, and business donors and volunteers that have made our success possible. There are so many to thank and there is no way to do it in this letter. I’m grateful to you and all. I want to thank all the Board Presidents/CVO’s that I have had the honor to work with over the years. You all are great leaders and I have learned from each of you. It indeed takes a village to support our youth.

Hardest Decision of my life!

So, I sadly and respectfully resign my position as Chief Professional Officer of the Boys & Girls Clubs of Greater Oxnard and Port Hueneme on June 30th, 2014. I thank God for this opportunity. The Club community is my family and I will miss the daily interactions but know that we will continue on as friends.

But I’m not going away

In my new position as the Director of Major Metro Clubs – Pacific Region I will still be working on behalf of children in the nine pacific states, nationally and perhaps a little internationally. And I will be still living in Oxnard. The new position is a telecommuting one.

It’s has been a great run. Thanks for the honor to serve.

Respectfully,

Tim

Tim Blaylock

 

 

Leave a Reply

